Chasing Rabbbits

šŸ¤” Why do I write random stuff?

Plenty of people have shared their version of ā€œyou write to figure out what you think.ā€ And I agree with most of them.

I write stuff ā€œunrelatedā€ to my ā€œfocus topicsā€ because Iā€™m trying to figure out whatā€™s happening in my mind. (And because this is a personal site / blog so I get to do whatever I want (hereā€™s a video of gorgeous piano music for you)).

I ā€œhearā€ a random line or train of thought in my head (thereā€™s a near constant internal monologue happening up there, the fact that some people donā€™t have one of those is baffling to me) and try to capture it and chase it further. Via writing.

I used to do this because my main form of writing was song lyrics.

Then stream of consciousness journaling cleared out some cobwebs.

Then I had an experience applying for something or other I didnā€™t get, writing advice or something. I was about to fall asleep when I had an idea for part of my response (my usual time for such ideas) and I got up to write it down. Then kept writing. And through that process I discovered something about why I wanted the advice and what I hoped to achieve with it. I donā€™t remember any of that stuff now, but Iā€™m pretty sure it led to me starting this blog.

Why do I post the random stuff?

Because thatā€™s the forcing function to get me to write it.

#thoughts